Nikon or Canon?

If you are starting to look at making the leap from point and shoot cameras to a dslr you are probably finding a myriad of choices and no clear guidance on what to pick.  You don’t want to spend you hard earned money only to find out you made the wrong choice.  I found myself in this situation a few years ago.  Nikon?  Canon?  Sony? Pentax?  I quickly narrowed my choices to Nikon and Canon.

Narrowing down to Nikon and Canon was not terribly difficult.  They both have been making photographic equipoment a long time and have decent reputations.  The pro’s seem to pretty much use predominately Nikon or Canon.  Both Sony and Pentax are respectable companies, but for me, I wasn’t going to dump a bunch of money into either.  So the decision came down to Nikon or Canon.

This was a much harder decision.  And if you are like me you have scoured the internet looking for a definitive answer.  But the definitive answer is not there, at least the answer is not obvious.  As I looked at all worldly advise the internet had to offer on this subject – “….invest in a system.”, “….go to the store and hold them.”, “…put your money into the glass.” I came to the realization that the definitive answer is it doesn’t matter.  Both Nikon and Canon are high quality, capable cameras.  They each have their own strengths and weaknesses, but the differences are not that great and it really does come down to personal preference.  Like choosing the color of a car.  Some like blue, some like red.  It is still the same car.

I choose Nikon.  I started with a D80, upgraded to a D200, and upgraded again to a D700.  I went with Nikon for reasons that I really can’t explain.  Sort of like trying to explain to someone why you like the color blue over the color red.  I went to the store and handled the different cameras and the Nikon just seemed better for me and I have never regretted my decision.  I did notice when researching Nikon vs Canon that there seemed to be more Nikon speciality sites.  By this I mean more how-to sites by guys that use Nikon.  Sites like  bythom.com, nikonrumors.com, kenrockwell.com (at least at the time he was pro-Nikon), moosepeterson.com.  I am sure there are similar Canon sites, but I never really came across any so I am kind of left to believe that enthusiasts are better served with Nikon.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nikon or Canon?

  1. Geoff says:

    To my mind choosing a camera is a bit like choosing a long time relationship. You are choosing a system not a camera, there are many things to consider, the camera, lenses, flash, raw software conversion etc.
    You will not go wrong with a D700, I know I have one.
    You are welcome to visit my site.

    • futurecreep says:

      I agree. Unless you have a lot of money to spend, the system you pick is definitely long-term. Probably a life-long relationship.
      I really like my D700. Some of the shots that I get really amaze me. Especially in low light.
      I took a look at your impressive web site. Very informative. I am going to have to get an ND filter and try some of those long exposure shots. Thanks.

  2. Nathan Stitt says:

    My general impression is that Canon makes the best point and shoot cameras and Nikon has the best SLR systems. I use Canon for my point and shoots and my brother talked me into going with Pentax for my DSLR. Anyways, enjoyed your post.

    • futurecreep says:

      Thanks. I probably should have mentioned in the post that Canon is the clear winner when it comes to point and shoot. I use the Canon D10 as my point and shoot and I am very happy with it. I really enjoy taking it underwater. The only think I don’t like about it is it doesn’t do raw. I am considering the G12 but really don’t want to spend the money yet.
      Pentax DSLR’s are good cameras. Their sensors are near the top of the rankings at DxOMark (http://dxomark.com/index.php/Camera-Sensor/Sensor-rankings). But, for me, if I am going to invest in a system and overtimes possibly spend thousands of dollars, I am going with Canon or Nikon.
      Cool blog btw, very good writing. I kept reading far long than I had thought I would.

      • Nathan Stitt says:

        I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. Last year I made a concerted effort to change my focus and try to blog about various topics that I enjoy instead of just one.

        If I were shooting professionally I would probably go with Canon or Nikon just because they are ubiquitous and there are so many options with them. Pentax is fun as a enthusiast brand, mostly because of their strange selection of prime lenses. I wouldn’t recommend them to just anyone though as the two big players make a lot more sense for most people.

  3. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

